The Church of Our Lady of the rosary is located towards the west of the Basilica of the Bom Jesus on the Holy Hill. The church was built by Alfonso de Albuquerque in the year 1510 and also bears an inscription. This was one of the earliest churches based in Goa. The front of the church resembles a fort which openings in the walls which were meant for seeing the invaders. The church of Our Lady of the Rosary is the only structure in old Goa which was complete and is a beautiful blend of the renaissance and Gothic architectures, which consists of 2 altars and 3 chapels, meant for the silent prayers. The interiors are very simple and the altar even has an image of the of Our Lady of the Rosary or Nossa Senhora de Rozario.
This beautiful and very old church is made up of laterite and has been plastered with lime mortar. There is a two storeyed portico. The portico as well as the façade of the church has rounded towers on either side with the cross on top. The roof of the church is covered with tiles and is supported by the wooden rafters.
The church was a very fine example of the“ Manueline” style architecture which goes back to the early Portuguese times. Every year in the month of November, there is a feast held in the church which is taken out by the traditional processions and novenas and also by the family which is responsible for the celebration of the feast, paints the church also. As a part of the celebration there are dance performances, Konkani concerts, and grand fireworks along with fashion shows which are held here.