Constructed in 1528 under the aegis of King Krishnadevarya, the Laxminarasimha Temple is dedicated to Lord Narasimha, one of the nine avatars of Lord Vishnu and Goddess Laxmi. The Lord took the form of a human with the head of a lion in order to kill the demon king Hiranyakashyap at the behest of his devote Prahalad, the son of the demon king. The statue of Lord Narasimha was carved out of a single piece of granite and is the biggest statue in Hampi. The Lord is depicted sitting on the Sheshnaga or Adishesha, king of the snakes.
The Goddess Laxmi was seated on the lap of the Lord in the original form. However, her statue was disfigured and removed when the Deccan Sultans lay waste the Vijayanagara empire in 1565. The hand of the Goddess with rings on the fingers, which was resting on the Lord’s back, is all that remains of her presence. The name Laxminarasimha was given because of the presence of both the God and the Goddess in the temple.
The absence of the Goddess, led people to believe that the statue of Lord Narasimha was that of his Ugra Narasimha form (the angry phase of the avatar). However, the idol represents the Laxminarasimha or Malola – Narasimha avatar and not the Ugra Narasimha avatar. A magnificent statue, the ravages of time have taken its toll, but it still manages to retain its glory and magnificence for all to see.
|Entry Fee||No Entry Fee|
|Timings||All days of the week 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM|
|Visit Duration||1 to 2 hours|