This is a huge tank which is located at a distance of around 5 kms from the old city and covers an area almost that equal to Sri Meenakshi Temple. This is a famous site for Teppam Festival which is held in the January and February. When it is empty it serves as a playground for cricket and local kids play here. The tank was originally built in the year of 1646 by Tirumalai Nayak who was the ruler of Madurai. The tank is connected to Vaigai River via underground channels. This place remain open all days of week at 5:00 AM - 9:00 PM and entry fee is free.