Mubarak Mandi Palace is a live example of the prosperous era of Dogra Dynasty of Jammu valley. The palace overlooks the Tawi River and was built over a span of 150 years. It was the main seat of the kingdom until 1925, after which Raja Hari Singh moved the royal seat to Hari Niwas Palace in Northern Jammu. The architecture of the palace is a unique mixture of European Baroque, Mughal and Rajasthani styles. The palace offers a wonderful experience for history enthusiasts.
The palace is grouped around several courtyards and includes various buildings and palaces like the Darbar Hall Complex, the Pink Palace, Royal Courts buildings, Gol Ghar Complex, Nawa Mahal, Rani Charak Palace, Hawa Mahal, the Toshakhana palace and the Sheesh Mahal. Presently some sections of the palace house government offices, courts and the Dogra Art Museum. However owing to massive fires and earthquakes, other parts of the palace are in ruins. The Pink hall houses the museum that holds several miniature paintings and the famous golden bow and arrow of Emperor Shah Jahan. The miniatures belong to the Kangra, Jammu and the Bashohli art schools. Sheesh Mahal is made entirely of glass. The palace has been declared a heritage site.
|Visit Duration||1 to 2 hours|
|Timings||All days of the week 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM|