Viceroy Arch, also referred to as 'Gateway of Goa', amazes every visitor with the wonderful architectural skill used to construct it. Erected as a tribute to Vasco de Gama and his achievements, this popular monument in Old Goa was constructed by Viceroy Francisco da Gama in 1597, who was the grandson of Vasco de Gama. The arch had collapsed in 1948. Though it was rebuilt in 1954 but the bronze statue of St Catherine present on the third tier could not be reestablished. This great historical structure is made up of laterite stone with a granite (greenish) façade. From inside, it bears beautiful inscriptions that relate to Vasco Da Gama and King Dom Joao IV.
The side of arch that faces the Mandovi River has on its top a small statue of Vasco da Gama, clad in his royal uniform. On the rear side of the archway, there is a statue of a crowned woman standing on a native, a symbol of Christian victory over paganism. The Rua Direita road leading to the Main Square covers most of the existing monuments.
|Timings||All days of the week 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM|
|Visit Duration||15 to 30 minutes|